# 20 Red rubber bands

Source

I like to recycle and if something is free I will adopt it and reuse it. The red rubber bands that the postman leaves lying around everywhere are a perfect example of this. I find them really annoying and I don’t know why they have to litter the streets. Apparently Royal Mail get through 2 million PER DAY. If they took them back they wouldn’t have to keep on buying new ones.

But in any case I have now been collecting them for about 3 years and I use them for all sorts of things – to keep my ageing filofax together, to tie up freezer food bags and in the garden for various things.

The BBC did some research a while back on other uses for a Royal Mail rubber band. Here are some of the best ones I came across on other websites doing similar work:

Rubber band littering has definitely become a problem
  • Use them as cheap Kabbalah wrist bands. Madonna wears one and buying them from the Kabbalah Centre costs $26 for enough red string to make seven bands
  • Consider them a collector’s item. There was a fad among scooter-riding children in 2009 to collect the bands by putting them over the T-bar and dropping them down the central column. Encourage your child to collect the most
  • Consider the bending down and the picking up of the bands as exercise. It shouldn’t be too hard to keep up a regular rhythm as the red bands were chosen by the Royal Mail so they were easy to spot
  • Make a red rubber band ball
  • Gather them and sell them back to the Royal Mail
  • Bicycle clips (yep I’ve done this one)
  • Emergency belt loops
  • Pencil-top erasers
  • Waistband expanders
  • Chopping board stabilisers
  • Anti-slip devices for mixing spoons
  • Anti-squeak devices for bed slats
  • Saucepan handle covers
  • Jar openers
  • Cable ties
  • An aide memoire
  • Barter for stamps
  • Cat toys
  • Gardening string
  • Handlebar fasteners
and here are some of the stupidest ideas I’ve found:
  • Use them to mark Chinese new year. Red is considered lucky by many in China and is worn during festivities. It’s a mere 314 days until the next festivities.
  • Guitar strings (I don’t think this one actually works)
  • Hair bands (if you’ve ever done it, you’ll know what a stupid idea this is)
  • A teddy bungee jump (why?)
Do you use them for anything else? Let me know.

All the rage with the kids
About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

