# 131 The Hoarding Years

I completely understand what NatalieM on xojane.com was on about when she posted this article. Up until recent times this was me and it was like a millstone round my neck. I have no explanation for it. There is something in-built in my genes that means I have to stockpile. 

Thankfully I seem to have got over my hoarding obsession and am enjoying the downsizing process ready to move house next year.

To be honest for someone of my age and situation I don’t have a lot of possessions anyway. But I think that’s because I get the moving bug on a fairly regular basis and moving is, to be honest, a pain in the arse. This was a conversation I had with my mother the other night. Apparently she’s been tracking my moving schedule and every 4 or 5 years I ‘up sticks’. I don’t plan it that way, it just happens. It is ironic that it will be 4 years next year when I move again, although I’m not planning on moving town just yet.

I never got quite this bad (source)

But back to NatalieM….. She used a gifted Cath Kidston soap and soap dish as her prime example of hoarding for sentimental reasons. I have done this on many occasions and invariably attach ridiculous sentimentality to inanimate objects. But moving a lot has meant a lot of things have been lost or shed for practical reasons. I regret losing only a few of them. But there’s only so much you can do.

I have far less to spend on myself now that I am running my own business and so all the bathroom paraphenalia I’ve hoarded is now slowly being used up. And the beauty of it is that it’s not costing me a thing. Bathroom products are a luxury so I rely on birthdays and Christmas for top ups. I probably had about two years worth. Most of it saw me through my last financially crippling year as an undergraduate student which ended in June and now I am firmly entrenched in the financially crippling status of self employed it’s still serving me well.

I banned for the sake of it presents generally some time back. I think it’s a terrible waste. So everything is now practical, useful or edible which means there are hoarding limitations and means moving is going to be a far less painful process. 

I just hope no one sends me any housewarming gifts.

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

