# 49 (2013) Careless Talk Costs Privacy

Even though privacy settings are there for most of what we do on social media, it certainly doesn’t protect you from everything. For instance, I can’t stop anyone from reading my blog. In these cases you need to be careful about what you say.

I would never give away anything that I thought would compromise my personal safety, my location or enough about my personal life that would put me at risk from any one individual.

Additionally, I make a point of not mentioning people in my posts and I try not to talk about specific subjects that directly affect friends and family around me in such a way as would compromise their trust in me.

I also prefer not to name companies I am personally connected with and I certainly don’t divulge company information. Therefore, my new but temporary place of work will mostly be out of bounds since I deal with information that should not be the subject of idle chatter.

There are of course people that I would rather didn’t know my business but I suppose since I talk about many subjects that affect me it’s inevitable these individuals will find out what’s going on in my life.  So it’s a bit creepy when you get a text out of the blue from someone you haven’t heard from in a long time saying they’re sorry to hear your life has fallen apart.

There are very good reasons I haven’t seen this person in some time. All contact has well and truly been severed and I would like it to remain that way. Whether my blog is directly to blame for this response I am not sure. If it is, then perhaps this posting might induce another response and I shall have to think again about how I manage this site. Which would be a shame because I find blogging fun, useful and therapeutic. It really does serve a purpose.

Stop torturing yourself (source)

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

