# 65 (2013) Money Appreciation

I find unnecessary spending rather obscene. I guess having lived at both ends of the financial scale (to a certain degree) I’ve learned to appreciate and be happy with the basics and abhore excessive expenditure and more than anything else – waste.

I suppose I’ve got very used to own brands and having only what I need. I don’t get a buzz from shopping or spending money. I’d rather have it sitting in the bank where I can find it.

(source)

And this makes birthdays and Christmas rather tricky times. I come from a background where quantity has fewer limits, and where if you don’t provide some guidance on gift lists, you’ll end up with a million things you really don’t need. I have therefore learnt to provide plenty of guidance in advance to save on pretended gratitude so that ‘Thanks, I really needed that’ means it.

I save all my bathroom non-essentials such as perfume or branded products for events such as this and they are easy stocking fillers for anyone because you are grateful for whatever you are given. I have put a stop to bringing back ‘tat’ from holidays. If you have to bring me something back make it edible because food is always at a premium and I love my food.

Food has started to make regular appearances in my birthday and Christmas gift bags. It seems sad but I get more of a kick from finding a ‘luxury’ product in my kitchen cupboard than I do in my bathroom.

If ever I make enough money to have spending cash at the end of the month and not have to worry I think I will always lead a relatively frugal existence. Excess funds will probably end up in the bank anyway. I appreciate and respect money and material goods more than I ever did and I don’t think I could ever change. It’s an inbuilt part of me now.

I no longer waste my money on alcohol or other ‘kicks’, expensive makeup or branded bathroom products. I just don’t see the need. I don’t buy entertainment except the occasional film ‘treat’ and you know what, that’s just fine. Because it makes it more special.

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

