# 91 (2013) I Was Entertained By Law Breakers

Ever since the Jimmy Savile scandal surfaced I have come to realise that through most of my childhood I have been entertained, in part, by paedophiles. I grew up watching the likes of ‘Jim’ll Fix It’, ‘Rolf Harris’s Cartoon Time’ and ‘It’s a Knockout’ and I am pained every time another name from the world of entertainment gets dragged into the mix and held up as an example of child brutality. And I’m sure we haven’t heard of the last of it.

If nothing else in our modern age, we all know that child abuse is not a modern phenomenon which happened because the internet came along. It’s been lurking for decades on the basis of things that you ‘just don’t talk about’ and children not being believed. The ‘don’t talk’ attitude and that so many of these evil people were part of a larger, seemingly untouchable, corporation such as the BBC has, I’m sorry to say, possibly helped.

I’m not going to dwell on this for long. I am no authority on the subject and I don’t know the status of the ‘accused’ still awaiting trial in the UK at the moment. But I think it’s a sad legacy that so many people in such huge positions of trust and responsibility have so abused those privileged positions. I guess that’s how they work. And I hope we’re learning from it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

