# 96 (2013) Blurred Lines – Blurry Messages

(source)

Actually they’re not naked (source)

I am not a feminist but I know insulting sexualisation and discrimination when I see it. Take Robin Thicke’s ‘Blurred Lines’. One of the most thinly veiled sexist songs I have heard for a while – with its equally insulting and shallow video.

Now it may be a catchy tune, but have you actually listened to the words? I don’t doubt a lot of people haven’t. A tune is a tune right? I’m not going to repeat all the lyrics here because this post would just go on forever and all the ‘hey hey’s’ would just get boring. But here are some choice verses I found on Google for you to see, backed up with a glorious still from the original video:

OK now he was close, tried to domesticate you
But you’re an animal, baby, it’s in your nature
Just let me liberate you
Hey, hey, hey
You don’t need no papers
Hey, hey, hey
That man is not your maker

And that’s why I’m gon’ take a good girl
I know you want it (x3)
You’re a good girl
Can’t let it get past me
You’re far from plastic
Talk about getting blasted
I hate these blurred lines
I know you want it (x3)
But you’re a good girl
The way you grab me
Must wanna get nasty
Go ahead, get at me

What do they make dreams for
When you got them jeans on
What do we need steam for
You the hottest bitch in this place
I feel so lucky
Hey, hey, hey
You wanna hug me
Hey, hey, hey
What rhymes with hug me?
Hey, hey, hey

One thing I ask of you
Let me be the one you back that ass to
Go, from Malibu, to Paris, boo
Yeah, I had a bitch, but she ain’t bad as you
So hit me up when you passing through
I’ll give you something big enough to tear your ass in two
Swag on, even when you dress casual
I mean it’s almost unbearable
In a hundred years not dare, would I
Pull a Pharside let you pass me by
Nothing like your last guy, he too square for you
He don’t smack that ass and pull your hair like that
So I just watch and wait for you to salute
But you didn’t pick
Not many women can refuse this pimpin’
I’m a nice guy, but don’t get it if you get with me

You get the idea. The lyrics have been described as thinly veiled references to issues of sexual consent – the ‘blurred lines’.

I watched a fabulous parody of it, ‘Defined Lines’ over on the Huffington Post by New Zealand Law students Adelaide Dunn, Olivia Lubbock and Zoe Ellwood. It was banned from YouTube for being too raunchy (compared to what?) but is now back on line. Lubbock commented: ‘It’s just funny that the response has been so negative when you flip it around and objectify males.’ Yes. Yes it is!

So I was more than a little disappointed when someone on my friends list on Facebook comments as follows: ‘They all look like butt ugly rug munchers so no wonder their hating on blurred lines video ha ha. Now, maybe the ‘ha ha’ is meant to suggest it’s a joke. But if I was offended then I’m sure some of my ‘rug muncher’ friends would be pretty insulted. The worst thing about this statement was that it was from a woman and she’s in the industry.  Needless to say I have removed her from my friends list. Because regardless of the intent, I don’t want this kind of comment spewing forth from my social media or from people I supposed to be in business with On the internet you can be just as picky about who you are friends with.

Here are butt ugly rug munchers (source)

Three butt ugly rug munchers – actually Law students from Auckland (source)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

