# 99 (2013) Is Privatising Royal Mail A Good Thing?

As yet another overseas client backs down over the high cost of airmail I feel fairly nonplussed about the impending privatisation of Royal Mail.

For me, as a small business owner who loses a lot of overseas customers because of rapid and sizable price rises, I have become fairly used to spending my time looking for alternative methods in a desperate bid to secure sales.

Invariably I end up telling customers that the shipping is going to cost more than the item they are buying. And despite me selling a unique product, they prefer to go elsewhere.

My main concern with Royal Mail’s change of status is, will prices drop? I am not hopeful as privatisation isn’t a sure bet things will become more affordable.  But if prices rise again it’s likely I am going to remove foreign postage options from my sales page and offer collection and in person delivery options for my UK customers.

It’s getting to the point where it just isn’t worth trying to sell to the international market and invariably it’s now cheaper to drive to locations within a certain distance than it is to post. There are a number of alternatives for UK postage but foreign sales are still an issue and I’m thinking it’s a market I’m going to have to let go for a while at least.

526358_374272929342891_1409879252_n
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

