# 109 (2013) How Do You Measure Success?

How do you measure success? Is it your own personal goals or do you measure against your peers, the competition or your critics. And if someone doesn’t think you are being as successful as they think you should be, do you rise to the challenge? What if you reach your goals, do you push yourself further or do you sit back and bathe in the glory of your achievements content in the knowledge that you reached your milestone and are still enjoying what you set out to do?

I have two passions in life. One, to have a book published, will have reached fruition next year and at the moment I cannot see past that because it was an end goal. That being said, its offshoots – magazine articles and online blogs – have ensured a continual drip feed of similar work and I’m now investigating freelancing on a more regular basis.

The other big thing in my life, my work as a fashion designer and stylist, whilst always being a passion never made me that competitive. I always wanted to run my own business and I am now doing that but I don’t think I am looking for the kind of success enjoyed by top designers.

There are two reasons for this. Firstly that I have always been very much aware of part time work without pressure becoming a chore. And whilst I enjoy my work and the results I get from it I’m not sure I want to treat it as a 9 – 5. Maybe if that becomes a reality I will feel differently about it, but for the moment I am happy with the variety of work projects I am getting and dipping between several disciplines.

Additionally, being at the top in fashion has its own problems and I know the fashion industry and all its little gripes and niggles are probably not the way I want to live my life. If you’ve ever watched ‘The Devil Wears Prada’ you’ll know what I mean. I am too easy going, laid back and see everything is black and white. I have no time for gossip or running people down and I’m no drama queen. I am also freakishly non-materialistic.

The point of this rambling is that no matter how I see things there are others who have a very different perspective and I am constantly being reminded that I don’t meet expectations of what success is. And this kind of takes some of the fun out of it. It’s a hard cross to bear when you’re happy with the way things are but those around you expect more and question why you’re not doing better.

I’ve never wanted to be a millionaire (that’s a lie of course) but I can do without it. I’m not extravagant so my financial needs aren’t that demanding. Maybe that takes some of my drive away but the older I get the less I want that fame accolade and the more I just want to be happy in what I’m doing.

That’s not to say things won’t change. Who knows when I might be inspired enough to take on that challenge but for now things are ticking along and I don’t yearn for that overwhelming power of success that I wanted when I was 18 or 19. And the only person that should matter to is me.

Tags: , , , ,

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

