# 111 (2013) Work To Live / Live To Work

I mentioned the other day how because I don’t care much about my job it lets me enjoy it more. I wrote this as I laminated 250 COSHH sheets in between phone calls from customers asking to be directed to other departments..

Generally I answer phones and frank the mail for 3 hours a day. And I can stand that because the rest of my life is full of far more interesting and rewarding things. But the limited funds take the sting out of paying the bills at the end of each month which let’s me enjoy my other work even more and be creative rather than thinking about profit all the time. It’s easy money, even if it is poorly paid. Not that the money is essential. If I was tied to this job I would be seriously reevaluating my life. But the knowledge that I can leave it whenever I want helps immeasurably. I don’t have to put up with office pettiness if I don’t want to. It helps me feel less precarious, in control and ultimately happier.

The work ethic here is pretty tardy it has to be said. And I guess a lot of that is because business is slow and most of them resent their jobs. Retail is still fairly depressed. The manager has left, another member of staff handed in his notice the other day and everyone is bickering like children in the school playground. I let it waft over me, because it’s only 3 hours a day. If anything it has become an amusing aside and I keep well out of any office politics.

I realise however that there are many people stuck in jobs they hate because of their financial obligations. I, luckily, have never been in that situation. I have always been of the mindset that if you don’t like your job, change it and that’s what I’ve always done. But I have been very lucky in work and found my jobs rewarding, well paid enough for my needs and interesting. It was only my last job before attending university which I hated with every fibre of my being. The work was depressing and the staff as nasty and trivial as you could possibly find them. Thankfully because of my impending university enrolment, there was an end in sight and I left with great relief and moved on to better things.

Most of us will spend the majority of our lives at work. And we might as well enjoy it. So if you spend eight hours a day hating your life and Sunday dreading Monday, it’s time to have a rethink. Because is it worth it to wake up one day and realise you spent the best days of your life wishing you were somewhere else, doing something different.

Tags: , , ,

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

