Shit Hair

When I was about 15 I was finally allowed to do what I wanted with my hair. I opted for a short look.When I was mistaken for a boy in my local sweet shop I decided to grow it. And one failed perm later I vowed never to go to a hairdresser again.

You see, I was never a girly girl. Which is odd considering my job. I’ve always been a bit of a tom boy. Never particularly comfortable in a dress. Always felt a bit frumpy. My mum always bought my clothes. I literally had no idea how to do fashion whatsoever. I just didn’t get it.

And I have never ever found the hairstyle that I thought suited me and I felt represented who I was.

It was 7 years before I went to a hairdresser again. Eventually years later I had grown tired of super long ‘I can sit on it’ hair. It didn’t suit my age and it annoyed the hell out of me. So I found a new hairdresser and gradually over time chopped it and chopped it and factored in a bang fringe.

These days I sport a very angled bob. It’s long at the front, super short at the back. Like, it hasn’t been this short at the back since I was 15. I daren’t have anymore off because I’m afraid of being mistaken for a fat dyke which I suppose is a bit like being mistaken for a boy at the sensitive age of 15.

Because all these years later and really I am still a tom boy.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About goingitalone

All you need to know about me is on my posts. Right now, things are quiet. I'm trying to get back into blogging. Time - where is all the time!!!!

Leave a Reply

